Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar lose Cricket Australia contracts as Xavier Bartlett rewarded in 2024-25 list

Space-Separated Links


Test hopeful Marcus Harris and white-ball spinner Ashton Agar were among four players who lost their Cricket Australia contracts as boom Queensland fast bowler Xavier Bartlett was added to the 23-player list.

White-ball slugger Matt Short, Western Australia all-rounder Aaron Hardie and Tasmanian quick Nathan Ellis joined Bartlett, who made a stunning ODI debut at the MCG, as new additions to the list.

But Harris, who was overlooked as an opening replacement for David Warner when he retired, has lost his place in the pecking order with Agar and all-rounders Marcus Stoinis and Michael Neser also axed from the central list.

Warner also list his contract following his Test and ODI retirement, with his final T20 games for Australia set to take place at the upcoming World Cup.

National selection chief George Bailey lauded the newcomers.

“Matt, Aaron and Xavier have been extremely impressive in the early stages of their international careers,” he said.

“Their performances and the way they have embraced the international stage has been exciting to watch.

“The panel believes they have strong futures and are deserved of their contracts as they work towards striving to become regulars in the Australian setup.”

Harris played the most recent of his 14 Tests more than two years ago and dropped off towards the end of the Sheffield Shield season.

Agar has played just a single ODI in the past 12 months and has battled ongoing calf injuries.

Stoinis was axed from the ODI side over the summer after playing at last year’s World Cup, but remains in contention for the upcoming T20 World Cup in the Caribbean despite missing Australia’s recent tour of New Zealand with a back injury.

Bartlett’s rapid rise has earned him a big payday after taking a Big Bash-leading 20 wickets in the Brisbane Heat’s title-winning campaign and then taking a pair of four-wicket hauls in his first two ODI games for Australia against the West Indies and was named player of the series.

CA contracted men’s players 2024-25: Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Jhye Richardson, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

Read related topics:Brisbane

Leave a Comment